The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Music Production PC Spec Check Audio Interfaces
Old 4th October 2014
Here for the gear

Music Production PC Spec Check

Hi all

A Gearslutz newbie here, although I've been a lurker for a long time and have turned to the forums on a number of occasions for audio advice.

I'm in the process of researching an appropriate spec for a new music production PC as my old one is on its last legs. I've looked extensively into whether I should go PC or Mac, and I've made a decision to continue on a PC for a whole host of reasons although I can assure you I've not taken the decision lightly. So, after a lot of research I've been looking at custom built PCs and have come up with the spec below. However I'm a novice when it comes to the inner workings of a computer so I wondered if anyone could offer a sanity check and any advice on whether the spec is appropriate for what I intend to use it for.

I'm currently using Ableton Live 8 (although I plan to upgrade to Suite 9 as part of the process) for music production plus stuff like Ozone 5, Melodyne, Sylenth and various NI instruments. Hardware-wise I do stuff mostly in the box, but I run various Akai controllers, a couple of hardware synths and a couple of effects pedals, and a Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 as the audio interface plus a Samson Control C and some other minor peripherals. Other software that I'll be using is Camtasia for some video editing, and Serato and iTunes.

The spec is:

Case: FRACTAL DESIGN ARC MIDI R2 MID-TOWER CASE
Processor (CPU): Intel® Core™i7 Six Core Processor i7-5930K (3.5GHz) 15MB Cache
Motherboard: ASUS® X99 DELUXE: ATX, HSW-E CPU, USB 3.0, SATA 6 GB/s
Memory (RAM): 32GB KINGSTON HYPER-X PREDATOR QUAD-DDR4 2400MHz X.M.P (8 x 4GB)
Graphics Card: 2GB AMD RADEON™ R9 270X - DVI, HDMI, DP - DX® 11, Eyefinity 4 Capable