The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Is SSD4 Platinum worth it for me? Virtual Instrument Plugins
Old 7th August 2014
Gear Head

Is SSD4 Platinum worth it for me?

Hi,

SSD4 is at a great price at the moment without a doubt. I've got other Slate plugins and love them so this is making my wallet itch! But I probably don't *need* more drums. So can you talk me into it or out of it?

I recently got EZ Drummer 2 and am very happy with it - I'm just a keen amateur who writes, records and tinkers about so EZ 2 is perfect in terms of ease of use. I've bought a few of the expansion packs and I'm happy with the quality of sounds and the variety is welcome.

So my questions are:-

1. Will SSD4 be pretty much 'plug and play' with EZ Drummer 2 as far as the mapping goes? I'm hoping just a menu selection in SSD4? If not, how much of a PITA is it?

2. It's been out a lot longer than EZ2. How is the quality of the sound vs the newer product? As I'm happy with the Indie Folk kit (for example) that I got which is also a year or two old I'm possibly not as fussy as some

3. Is it worth it for my situation? 100 kits sounds like a steal for the added variety but not if I prefer the EZ 2 kits from a quality viewpoint..... If the EZ 2 kits beat all or most of the 100 it'll go unused and, bargain or not, I'll have to pass.

Opinions gratefully received
Old 7th August 2014
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary_W View Post
Hi,

SSD4 is at a great price at the moment without a doubt. I've got other Slate plugins and love them so this is making my wallet itch! But I probably don't *need* more drums. So can you talk me into it or out of it?