The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Console Emulation
Old 1st June 2014
Gear Nut
Console Emulation

Hi fellow slutz

I'm slowly trying to build an arsenal of plugins for a home setup.
I have a clear idea of what equalizers, comps, reverb and delays I like working with and like the sound of.

What I need some help with, is something I don't have first hand experience with: The effect and feel of a good console emulation.
I've been looking at Slate VCC because of good experiences with the VBC and the VTM that both seem to give a mix a "larger-than-life" kind of feel and glue to it.

The thing is that even though the VCC is on sale at the moment I'm having a hard time deciding whether to buy it since I'm on a limited budget.

The Sonimus Britson on the other hand is within my budget but I have limited experience with their plugins and haven't found any professional reviews online.

Therefore I'm asking for your experience and good advice in deciding if the VCC would be a good investment in the long run or if I would get a similar result from the Britson. I realize that they are two different takes on the same idea and that the VCC has way more flexibility due to the five different console emulation available.

But what I'm looking for is to a tool to instill already good sounding mixes with that "extra thing", that 3D, glue and cohesion that my favorite music often has.

Thank you in advance!
Old 1st June 2014
I love the VCC, but can't use it now till it's AAX. sigh.
Old 1st June 2014
I've only used VCC. It sounds great imo. Gain staging is key! 5 consoles at $100 is $25 a console. Great value.
Old 1st June 2014
Gear Maniac