The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Snow Leopard vs Maverick, that is the question
Old 3rd January 2014
Gear Addict

Snow Leopard vs Maverick, that is the question

For a MacPro in a studio - no connection to internet, wireless units etc.
32-bit software only (Logic + plugins)
Priorities: reliability, low CPU/RAM load, troublefree.

Maverick or Snow Leopard - what say you experts?

Many thanks
Old 3rd January 2014
I am no expert, but I have held off from upgrading to Mavericks and still use Snow Leopard here, though I use 64bit Logic 9, as I run large sample libraries.
I like the stability of my system, the fact that all my projects load and run perfectly well, and there is nothing that Mavericks and Logic 10 seems to offer that I really need as far as music production goes.
I also run Studio One, and the only thing that bothers me is being unable to use some of my favourite 32bit plugins in it. Abbey Road and liquid mix compressors, and CDSoundmaster's aqua stuff, whereas they run fine in Logic9 with the bridge.
There are just too many potential problems for me to upgrade yet, and I just cannot see where the benefits would be?
I was a little worried about being left behind by software developers (NI mainly) who are releasing plugins without Snow Leopard support, but in these cases I have been able to run the updates by fooling the system, and so remain up to date. There is also the added benefit of spending more time making music, and less time downloading, upgrading, reauthorising, tweaking the system etc.
When I see something which is really beneficial to music production, I will upgrade.
Old 3rd January 2014
Lives for gear

j bridge works well with S1 if you have vst versions...

As for OP, I'm on 10.8.5 and will not be upgrading anytime soon--learned my lesson, finally
Old 3rd January 2014 | Show parent
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmydeluxe View Post
j bridge works well with S1 if you have vst versions...