The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Monitors for a newbie?
Old 20th October 2013
Here for the gear

Monitors for a newbie?

Hello there everyone,

I just posted this to ask which monitors i should buy. I'm looking at the £250 price range and i cant really go much higher than that. I'm also fairly new to producing but have the basic gear you need (minus decent monitors) E.g. an audio interface, a midi controller, etc.
I am currently looking at the M-audio BX8 D2. This is because its super cheap for an 8" and the reviews generally have been good. I was wondering whether i should stay with this choice or get 5" monitors - Like the KRK 5 G2/3 or the Yamaha Hs50s. The reason im leaning towards the BX8 is because i probably wont get a subwoofer till much later.... any replies would be appreciated
Old 20th October 2013
Lives for gear

Honestly, you're not going to get real 'monitors' at that price. You'd be much better spending that money on either very nice open backed headphones or second hand high quality hi fi speakers + amp. Eg I use KEF Cantor III as a secondary monitor. Or you might if lucky find NS10s for that price... but you'll still need an amp...

Sent from my GT-I9300
Old 20th October 2013
Gear Maniac

you should check krk rp5 or rp6. i've done couple of remixes released on major labels on those speakers so they should be enough for start. also check behringer truth 2031a i've been using them for couple of years with great results and i know couple of successful producers working with behringers truth 2031a.
m-audio bx8 d2 probably will work aswell.
Old 20th October 2013
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixedup View Post