The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
EMU 1820M ???
Old 5th June 2006
Here for the gear

EMU 1820M ???

I'm considering buying the EMU 1820M as my A/D interface. I'm new to DAW's but I've put together the following computer for that purpose:

ASUS mobo A8N-VN CSM
AMD Athlon 64 3000 1.8Mhz CPU
512Mb X 2 dual channel 400Mhz RAM Kingston
WD Raptor 10K as primary
NEC DVD+/- RW

I have a SB Live 5.1 now. It's decent but it's but not good for want I need.

Anyone have any comments on the abilities of the EMU 1820M?

Gary

Old 5th June 2006
Lives for gear

a good sound but rather dodgy drivers basicaly - ok, all drivers for all cards can give probs, but these seem a little more prone to problems that others on one machine i use it on sometimes it causes the computer to reboot for no reason when not in use, meaning if you stop work and go and have lunch, come back and the machine has crashed and rebooted all by itself. Also in one machine it couldnt work alongside a firewire equipt video capture card (canopus ACEDVIO), if you tried to browse from the sequencer to load a song it would crash out trying to browse the drives.

the plugins are next to useless due to the stupid delay compensator you must add to every track NOT using a dsp plugin, they arent inherently bad plugin fx, just not usable in real life with a sequencer.

If it works ok it's a good unit tho soundwise
Old 6th June 2006
Gear Addict

I have one that's been rock solid, but then I bought it as the 1.82 driver came out.

The FX's aren't much use except for monitoring purposes, which is enough to warrant having them IMO.

The real problem is that it's PCI based and PCI is a thing of the past. So if you buy, you'll likely not be able to move it to a newer PC next year because it won't have a PCI slot...

It has a decent selection of bundled software if that's important to you. And of course it's a very good sounding box.
Old 6th June 2006
Here for the gear