The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
IS WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION BETTER FOR AUDIO
Old 23rd May 2006
Lives for gear

IS WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION BETTER FOR AUDIO

Hey Everyone,

I am currrently getting my new dedicated audio only Laptop up and running. I just purchased a HP with the Duocore Intel. I already have my Mac G4 laptop for everything but audio. This new computer will never go on line and the only programs it will run until further notice are Nuendo 3, Wavelab 6, Nero for Backup, Waves diamond, wave APA44, Printing software drivers as they relate to Audio, (Take sheets, CD graphics etc.) Hard drive formating and imaging software, RME audiolink software for digiface, and drumogog.

All software will be updated through a third windows computer to avoid catching "the mung." I need stability since this is how I make my living. Is there any reason to install anything other than Windows XP Home addition. I plan on only installing a barebones system. The only thing that requires networking is the wave APA processor. I have been following musicxp.net lately and will follow their advise on tuning the computer for audio.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Cameron
Old 23rd May 2006
XP Home should be fine, AFAIK. XP Pro adds some advanced network capabilities (the ability to join a domain, which someone might need to join their work network from home, say). Just optimize your installation and you should be just fine.

When you get a new box from Dell, HP, etc, they come CRAMMED to the rafters with wizardware, adware, offerware, tutorials, and oodles of crapware, in general.