The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Reason re-authorizations
Old 18th May 2006
Gear Nut

Reason re-authorizations

Hello everybody, I have an issue with Reason 3.0.4 (aside from the fact that I hate Reason). I am a school administrator and I have to install it on over 30 machines.

Installing Reason as many of you know is quite a hassle. I wipe out all of the computers here every 3 months and start from a clean slate. However within the course of 3 months at least 5 machines will at SOME point ask for Reason or ReCycle to be re-authorized, which means re-inserting the discs as proof of purchase and re-entering the serial numbers.

This has never been a huge issue, and while I was never able to isolate what caused it to need re-authorization I just let it go. More recently the amount of software and user accounts etc has ballooned in size, so I recently went the route of cloning the machines. This way I setup 1 machine with all the bells and whistles and then clone it (for the record we do own legit copies of all software being cloned, most of it is ilok anyhow).

So the other day an entire room of cloned machines (11) all asked for Reason to be re-authorized... the process took nearly an hour. Upon calling/emailing tech support at Propellerhead they said that Reason/ReCycle only ask for re-authorization if a hardware change has occurred or if the hidden file containing the authorization is edited/moved/deleted.

Normally I would accept this response for the times when a machine would sporadically go down, but in this scenario I don't buy it. Why would 11 machines (which were are cloned from the same original) just one day freak out at the same exact time? They could not offer any insight, and also had no insight on if they were going iLok anytime soon.

I cannot find anything on any forum, but surely someone must encounter this problem somewhere?