The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
aiff file nightmare...
Old 3rd March 2012
Here for the gear

aiff file nightmare...

I'm on a Mac.

This relates to a general problem with corrupt aiff files,

but it may pertain to my use of Tracktion...

You know, I've always been the overly safe sort. I'm always double backed up at least every week. Tend not to update my OS until all the kinks have been worked out etc. But... the most henious problem has occurred, which leads me to believe all the music I've recorded for the last 10 years is now corrupt and useless.

So I'd been using tracktion, the mackie recording software for tracking. Why? Because it was cheap and simple. I'm a musician who records my own stuff, and gets other people to mix and master. I'm pretty successful with my own cottage industry, and have a pretty popular little jazz band here in the bay area.

So I'd been using tracktion for about 10 years, when a year ago suddenly I recorded a session, only to find that something strange happened to the session whereby tracktion wasn't reading the sample rate from the files correctly, like they would sound too fast or too slow. I never figured it out. I kept trying to vary the sample rate in tracktion, and never quite got to the end of the problem, and was then just sucked into various other projects, and moved on from tracktion out of frustration, and now use Logic Pro.