The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Mixer for Ableton Live Audio Interfaces
Old 19th September 2011
Here for the gear

Mixer for Ableton Live

Ok, so I'm pretty new to Ableton Live and computer recording, so I am looking to add some more gear to get my "home" recording studio up to par. I find that I am in need of a means to bring multiple inputs into the computer, and I know that a lot of sound cards and mixing board can add a lot of latency, especially if they are low end. I have the need to bring in like 4-8 inputs (guitar, mics, e-drums, etc), so I think an 8 input board would do the trick for me for the foreseeable future. I would like each of this inputs to then output to separate tracks within Ableton, so I have been looking at firewire or USB boards as the appear to work in this fashion (firewire would be superior in my opinion as it will leave my 3 usb ports open for midi devices, and it is currently unused at faster). So, I'm looking for some advice on which boards will meet this need. Here are the key features I see as a need:
- USB or Firewire with separate routing of all outputs to individual tracks
- Low latency
- 8ish inputs
- Cost under $1,000 (preferable under $600)
- Obviously good sound quality
- Small size
- Durable

I have looked at several different units, the one that looks closest to meeting my needs is the "Alesis MultiMix 8 USB 2.0 Mixer", but as I understand it the sound quality and durability of this unit are in question. I have also looked extensively at the Mackie units, like the Onyx 820i, which sounds like it has the sound quality, but I'm not clear if it will route the outputs to separate channels in Ableton or not, nor do I have a clear picture on the latency of any of the units I have looked at. I'm open to any brands, and also interested in advice on features/issues which I have yet to address here.