The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Cubase 5 Audio editing question?
Old 15th September 2011
Gear Head

Cubase 5 Audio editing question?

Tried to sign up at steinberg.net but can't post. I am fairly new to Cubase 5 on the PC and am trying to figure out how to edit out certain parts of audio without the entire waveform moving after deleting a certain selection. I recorded a 16 bar verse, made a mistake, tried to edit the word out (sample editor) but when i delete the word, the entire verse moves over to the start of the originally deleted word (selection of audio, which messes up my recorded doubles). I want to be able to edit part of the verse without the entire waveform moving over on (Lead Vocal track). Hopefully my dilemma makes sense. Cubase 5 users please respond at your convenience, thanks.
Old 15th September 2011
Lives for gear

Just edit in project window. At least i'm doin' it that way.
Old 15th September 2011
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by stafs View Post
Just edit in project window. At least i'm doin' it that way.
I was able to use the split tool but I need to figure out how to select certain parts of audio in the project window opposed to the sample editor (Which is easier but moves my entire waveform unlike when i use split tool, which more like a band aid).

Edit: Thanks stafs, you were right. I figured it out. I had to zoom in to really get the range tool in there and was able to cut it out fine from Project View. Thanks.
Old 15th September 2011
Lives for gear
Well with the scissor tool ('3' on the numeric keypad) you can slice and dice as you wish. Just crop the start and end of the phrase or word. Either that or slice one side and go back to the arrow (#1) and drag the region to delete the phrase or word.