The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Focusrite pro 24 , DSP worth the extra $ ?? Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 12th September 2011
Gear Maniac

Focusrite pro 24 , DSP worth the extra $ ??

Just wanted to see if anyone who has, or has use this into can vouch for the DSP functionality. Is it worthwhile the extra $100 and so you really use the features much ?
Old 12th September 2011
Gear Maniac

BUMP
Old 12th September 2011
Lives for gear

I don't have one of these but I have a Saffire Pro 40. It is an excellent interface unit that I've been using for a couple of years. One plus is the excellent Focusrite preamps. They are what I call "transparent" - what you input is what is recorded. I also have an MAudio unit (Ultra 8R) and I can't say the same thing for their preamps.
Old 12th September 2011
I really like the 24 DSP. It's hard to say if it's worth the extra $100 in your case. The VRM sounds cool, that I don't end up using much. But having low latency tracking compression and verb is a big plus. I definitely don't regret it but that's the best I can say.
Old 12th September 2011
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by fireberd View Post
I don't have one of these but I have a Saffire Pro 40. It is an excellent interface unit that I've been using for a couple of years. One plus is the excellent Focusrite preamps. They are what I call "transparent" - what you input is what is recorded. I also have an MAudio unit (Ultra 8R) and I can't say the same thing for their preamps.
From what I've heard the 24 and the 40 have the same pre's, I don't need that many I/O's although the rack mounted version would be nice.

What do you normally do if you want a little more colour ?
Old 12th September 2011
Gear Maniac

Thanks Mike.
Old 12th September 2011
Lives for gear