The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
HD set-up, where to start?
Old 8th September 2011
Here for the gear

HD set-up, where to start?

Hey all, first off, thanks to everyone on gearslutz who have saved me over the years by answering all my questions with the search button. Now onto a specific question that I can't find a concrete answer to.

I am currently setting up a professional mixing/recording studio. Just to give my background, I've been recording and producing on an Mbox2 via LE for the past four years. Now I'm trying to create a workstation on my quad core mac pro (1,1) but can't figure out which route to take or why.

I purchased a Control 24. Now I am looking into purchasing either a HD Native card (which seems the cheaper more logical solution) or a HD2 pci-e system. In terms of longetivity, I expect to eventually record bands (in about a year), but for now, I will be recording and mixing mainly vocals and voice-overs.

Which is the best option? I have been told to get the HD Native and a Symphony and a Big Ben... while others tell me to get the HD2 pci-e TDM. I have been reading through every possible thread on the HD Native vs HD TDM for the past week and still have absolutely no idea what to do considering the arguments I've been reading for both sides.

I obviously don't want to spend more than I should, but am willing to go over budget in order to save more in the long-run rather than have to upgrade in a year. Any input would be dearly appreciated.
Old 10th September 2011
Here for the gear

any help would be appreciated. thanks.
Old 10th September 2011
The HDNative is how I would go. TDM systems are great, but if the cards features fits your needs it will be a great option for you. I would not recommend the purchase of a Big Ben for any sonic reason, with an Apogee Symphony.
Old 10th September 2011
Here for the gear

Quote: