The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Deftones drum sound Virtual Instrument Plugins
Old 8th September 2011
Gear Head

Deftones drum sound

Hello, it has been a while. I hope to soon buy some software from toontrack. Likely SD2 and an expansion pack. I am a drummer, in what I suppose, many would call a metal band. I am having a hard time finding samples that are quite the sound that is pleasing to my ear. I'm looking for a Deftones/Dillinger Escape Plan sound which has (to me at least) a much much more breathy/woody/tight snare sounds, and really hard to describe tom sounds (especially the Deftones first album). Not sure if I can get the SD2 sounds in the ballpark by mixing and fx alone, and the Metal Foundry pack sounds far too oriented towards deathmetal. I hear some nice drum sounds from the Music City SDX pack which seems more oriented towards country of all things. I'm not trying to totally emulate their sound, just hope to have the tools to sculpt my own sounds which are heavily influenced by those bands. I own a Tama Starclassic maple tuned very particularly, and haven't really found much close to that either. I know, many would suggest record my own samples but I don't have the time or resources for that at the moment. I'm not too interested in BFD2, nor the Steven Slate pack. Sorry, but the Slate preset kit sounds absolutely nothing like the Deftones. In a nutshell, what is the closest I can orient myself in this direction with toontrack? Or if I'm being to stubborn, maybe, Maybe some other suggestions. Not jamstix either. Thank you!!!
Old 8th September 2011
Here for the gear

My advice is pretty basic, but I found it generally helpful when told to EQ and layer. Layering kicks and snares is super important, imho, to get that heavy kick with an audible top end, and for snares having that heavy/tight "snap" while keeping it's presence.