The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Audio Interface - Low Latency Performance Data Base
Old 27th May 2019
Lives for gear

Vin,

First, great work, of course!

But I need to know how you tested the Lynx TB system.
I have been using their AES16e PCIe card for many years, and am hoping to improve things slightly. (An oc'ed 9920x should help)

Your tests showed it slightly SLOWER than the Lynx PCIe system, yet Paul @ Lynx assures me that TB, properly implemented, is the fastest way to do audio i-o, and that I will definitely see a small improvement if I get a TB-equipped Aurora (n).

So the issue becomes "properly implemented" Thunderbolt, which opens up a medium sized can of worms. Did your mobo have native TB, with a good controller bypassing the cpu, or did it use a TB PCIe card? (I'm guessing the latter, as Windows mobos wit native TB have only hit the market n the last 6 months or less.)

Evidently there's a huge difference, although the specifics of this are making my head explode.
- And if anyone can explain those specifics & details I'd be very grateful.
Old 27th May 2019
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by speerchucker View Post
Vin,
I have been using their AES16e PCIe card for many years, and am hoping to improve things slightly. (An oc'ed 9920x should help)

Your tests showed it slightly SLOWER than the Lynx PCIe system, yet Paul @ Lynx assures me that TB, properly implemented, is the fastest way to do audio i-o, and that I will definitely see a small improvement if I get a TB-equipped Aurora (n).
Just by simple thought, that TB basically "tunnels" PCIe lanes via external interface, so I don't see any potential to be "faster" than internally connected card.
And I would probably add, that in context of audio interfaces, it's equivalent and doesn't really matter, whether you have PCIe or PCIe over TB.

So I don't think, you'll gain any improvement in that area.