The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
New DAW software driving me insane. DAW Software
Old 25th February 2006
Gear Maniac

New DAW software driving me insane.

Recently I made the simple decision that I wanted to incorporate some of my external workflow, mobile recording, etc into a DAW application other than ProTools. I've been using PTs for so long that I wasn't even aware of how intuitive I've become with it - i.e. I can simply work and move freely doing what I want whenever I want without even being concious of my "mousing and clicking". In fact, using PTs has become second nature to me.

Now to the dilemma, a friend of mine has a native DAW at his home studio with Audition and Cubase on it. He was kind enough to let me use both to form an opinion. My assumption was that it would come to me quickly, similar to sitting down behind a desk I've never used before, but I couldn't have been more wrong.

The most basic of tasks became seemingly insurmountable problems, slowing workflow to an unnacceptable crawl.

Is this what I can expect learning new software? Has anyone else experienced this? What seems to be the "Backup DAW of Choice" for those who are so versed in the PTs workflow?

There has to be something out there that has similar operations, or am I wrong?

THANKS!
-C
Old 25th February 2006
Lives for gear

mmmmmm. .....i like subway tuna sandwiches....lol.
i wonder if some joker will suggest i own a subway franchise cos i like their food....lol. (in joke lol)