The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Re-Building Music PC DAW Software
Old 29th December 2010
Lives for gear

Re-Building Music PC

Hi Guys,

I'm rebuilding my PC with dual boot, to run two different versions of pro-tools.

Any audio specific tips/tweaks on windows installations?

I'm not exactly green, I'm a IT Tech by day, but i tend to focus on virtualization, network performance, group policies and not so much audio performance.

So any audio related tips would be great.!

Both XP.

Pro-Tools M-Powered 7 on 1 partition,
Pro-Tools 8 LE on the other.

Basically I have more i/o on the M/Audio device, but may wish to use 8 with the MBox.

Might turn into a useful thread for future reference ?? Hope so anyway. I'm going to start one windows installation now for the M-Powered and I'll add anything I think of along the way to the thread.
Old 30th December 2010
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by oxide54 View Post
Hi Guys,

I'm rebuilding my PC with dual boot, to run two different versions of pro-tools.

Any audio specific tips/tweaks on windows installations?

I'm not exactly green, I'm a IT Tech by day, but i tend to focus on virtualization, network performance, group policies and not so much audio performance.

So any audio related tips would be great.!

Both XP.

Pro-Tools M-Powered 7 on 1 partition,
Pro-Tools 8 LE on the other.

Basically I have more i/o on the M/Audio device, but may wish to use 8 with the MBox.

Might turn into a useful thread for future reference ?? Hope so anyway. I'm going to start one windows installation now for the M-Powered and I'll add anything I think of along the way to the thread.
I would just run Pro Tools 9 then you can use either the MBox or M-Audio interface without needing a dual boot setup. Of course that would mean moving to Windows 7 as well.
Old 31st December 2010
Gear Head