The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Need music computer recommendations Audio Interfaces
Old 29th December 2010
Here for the gear

Need music computer recommendations

I'm fairly new to the engineering side of things so Im hoping to get some input from you computer experts out there. I expect to have around a $1600 budget soon to put towards a new music computer. Currently I'm using a Dell XPS 400 that ive had since 2006. I just upgraded the guts by adding a 2nd SATA drive and a total of 3 gigs of RAM but I did that just to hold me over. It's an XP system and I'm upgrading to PT 9 and an MBOX 3 Pro.

I am thinking about turning my current system over to the wife and kids and getting a Mac.

What is the best approach for my situation. I do mostly acoustic guitar, vocals, and VI's. As o stated I'm using an MBOX 3 PRO and PT 9.

Do MACs require a 2nd HD or is that just a PC thing? Would an iMac i7 be a good option or would I need to modify it etc...? Thanks for your input.
Old 31st December 2010
Gear Head

Any platform (Mac or PC) would perform better with a separate, dedicated hard drive for samples.

These days with Windows 7 being stable enough for audio production, going the PC route gives you more hardware and software options. Definitely go with 64-bit W7, so you can get more RAM, and more powerful muticore effects processing and plugins.
Old 31st December 2010
Lives for gear

They don't, but as a general rule you should always record and have your audio on another HD. IMac will do nicely for what you need. Just use and external HD for your work or if you can afford it, have it come with a SSD drive for OS and 2TB drive for work.
Old 31st December 2010
Lives for gear

Smile