The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Flex time/elastic audio in DAWs
Old 29th December 2010
Here for the gear

Flex time/elastic audio in DAWs

Hi,

I've been using using Logic in a studio for a couple of years but don't have that opportunity any more. I'm looking for something other than PT or Logic to use at home. Now, what I was wondering is, does any other DAW out there have a feature similar to flex time/elastic audio?

Thanks
Old 29th December 2010
Ableton. Greatest compositional tool ever. Download and demo it. Love it.
Old 29th December 2010
Lives for gear
Ableton has a great warp tool built in. Depending on your other needs (tracking/midi composition/mixing), it may or may not be your top choice.
Old 29th December 2010
Here for the gear

Haha, sounds like a cola knock off ad I saw recently - Drink it. Love it.

Thanks for the info, what is the name of the feature, I wish it would just be named the same thing for all DAWs but its all about marketing instead of ease of use these days...

@blacklion: oh ok, I am looking to use it for very subtle vocal timing tweaking
Old 29th December 2010
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philipp Cannons View Post
Haha, sounds like a cola knock off ad I saw recently - Drink it. Love it.

Thanks for the info, what is the name of the feature, I wish it would just be named the same thing for all DAWs but its all about marketing instead of ease of use these days...

@blacklion: oh ok, I am looking to use it for very subtle vocal timing tweaking
Well in that case, Cubase has Variaudio built in and can be used for pitch correction/alignment. Primarily intended for vocals, but I've tried it with other monophonic sources and it works very well.
Old 29th December 2010
Here for the gear

Ok, thanks! I'll look into it
Old 29th December 2010
Lives for gear