The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Help me choose an electronic drum set! DAW Software
Old 26th December 2010
Lives for gear

Help me choose an electronic drum set!

Hello all!

I am a drummer, or I have been, but haven't owned a kit in a while. I've been writing out parts with BFD and other MIDI based drum software, both acoustic and electronic. It's fun, but it takes a long time, and doesn't always have the feel that I want- writing percussion first puts me in a solid sort of routine, if you will, there's nowhere to go, I'm locked into the rhythm.

It'll be electronic drums for now, I'll be getting an acoustic kit, but I don't have much space or much ability to properly record acoustic drums. I don't need to play out, so that's not an issue. I'll be using BFD 2, and the 60's drums in Kontakt, and layering in electronic sounds from Battery and Ultrabeat as well. So the sounds of the module aren't particularly important.

I came across this, it seems to have been discontinued:

http://www.google.com/products/catal...wBw#ps-sellers

It's within budget. I could go a little higher, I guess. What I like about it is, 1) it is expandable, 2) it has two sensors on the snare for rim shots, 3) the cymbals are chokeable.

My only concern about electronic kits is mainly, the hi hat. If it comes to it I'll use an acoustic hat, and put a mic on it, but I'm hoping that I'll be able to get a realistic performance out of it. BFD 2 has tons of articulations, but will I be able to get anything more than a simple closed hat/open hat performance? I could do it later, I guess, after recording the MIDI. But of course I'd rather not have to.

I'm a real novice with this, so any advice is going to be very helpful. Thanks all! Happy New Year.
Old 28th December 2010
Lives for gear

Really? Nothing?

I know how to get this going:

Pro Tools sux. Logic rulez.