The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Processor Question
Old 26th December 2010
Lives for gear

Processor Question

I'm deliberating over paths for building my new Studio PC. Now I'm an IT engineer so I'm aware of the capabilities of different processors in the real world, but I'd like some input from the users of Cubase as to how it responds to these CPUs. After all no point in having a super computer if the software can't utilise it.

I have my eye on a system based on a Supermicro Dual xeon board with 2x 3.2ghz quad core xeons on it. 12GB of DDR2

Will cubase be able to get the best from this or is it maximised for single chip?
Old 26th December 2010
Here for the gear

Just a question mate, why are you using 12gb of DDR2 and not a less amount of gb on a DDR3?

Also, will your OS even support that amount of RAM? some OS'd wont use anymore than 4-8?

Also, I am sure Cubase (especially the newer updates) will take advantage of quad core processing, but more cores isnt neccesarily better..
I was reading about the difference between an i5 and i7, and while the i7 has more cores, it has a lesser frequency on each of them, and also the i5 just did a lot better due to its frequency.
So different processors are made for different things, and since your going to be using this as primarily an audio machine not something that requires massive amount of graphic processing less cores *may* be better with a faster speed.

It might be worth doing some research on this, as I cant remember all the facts off of the top of my head, but im sure thats what I was reading lol.

Also you might want to see if your mobo can support maximum use of a firewire soundcard, as firewire 800 is simply much faster than USB 2.0
and also your gonna need a big FSB as possible to make maximum use of the processing.
Old 27th December 2010
Lives for gear

Processor Question