The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Stock PC as DAW? Virtual Instrument Plugins
Old 21st December 2010
Here for the gear

Question Stock PC as DAW?

Hi,

I am not confident enough to build my own PC. Has anyone bought a prefab PC for DAW applications? I thought about getting an HP somewhere in the 1000 range (core i5 750; 8 GB RAM etc.) or a ZT at Costco and beef it up a little with a second HD and maybe even more memory.

Oh, I forgot, I am not a pro just a hobby home recording dude. I am currently using my old PC (Pentium 4 w/ 4GB RAM) and it just doesn't really cut it. I got to freeze most of my synth plug-ins.

I need enough horsepower to use 6 vocal audio tracks and the following plug-ins at the same time: Superior Drummer, Music Lab's Real Strat (2 instances), FreeAmp guitar effects, NI B4, NI Kontakt with Piano, Brass, Rhodes, and Scarbee Bass.

Thanks,

Matt
Old 21st December 2010
Lives for gear

I personally love the ZT pc's from costco. Using a pre-made computer is fine, just go through your settings and tweak them for audio recording. There should be guides on the internet for that

8gb of RAM is plenty and the i5-i7's i hear are pretty awesome. Get a fast hard drive, like 7200 RPM.
Old 21st December 2010
Gear Nut

Most modern computers, properly tweaked and with a good audio interface will be fine. Most problems are from the audio interface. So make sure you get one with good drivers.