The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Need a PC system for Cubase 5 (complete noob) Audio Interfaces
Old 16th December 2010
Here for the gear

Question Need a PC system for Cubase 5 (complete noob)

Hello guys!

I'm new to this forum. I just started learning Cubase in my laptop - it's not been a good experience. Too many audio glitches and high latency. So, I need a better computer where I can learn the software and get some work started. I also use Finale for writing music. Right now, I don't know anything about building PC systems or computer music. So, there's still a long way to go. But, I need a stable system that can be updated with technology.

For Cubase, I'm thinking about working mostly with VSTs. I might do some audio work after a while. Will I need an external soundcard for this?

I need a ready-to-go system below $1000. Just a basic system to start with. I'm a total noob so any links/ suggestions are more than welcome.
Old 16th December 2010
Gear Addict

Assuming that your laptop is fairly current, I think adding a decent sound card to your laptop will solve most of your problems.

There are about a dozen options for a USB sound card. M-Audio might be a safe bet for inexpensive with good drivers.

~Jay
Old 16th December 2010
Lives for gear

You will need an external soundcard and a decent but not over-the-top computer.

For the audio interface I'd recommend either RME or Yamaha/Steinberg MR816.

As for the computer, a decently clocked Intel quad-core will do with 4 GB RAM and 2-3 hard drives.
Old 16th December 2010
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay M View Post
Assuming that your laptop is fairly current, I think adding a decent sound card to your laptop will solve most of your problems.

There are about a dozen options for a USB sound card. M-Audio might be a safe bet for inexpensive with good drivers.

~Jay