The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Help!!!!!! LaCie HD Failure
Old 15th December 2010
Gear Nut

I have a 150 gig LaCie D2 that I've used for years as my main recording drive. I did a 10 hour session on it yesterday with no problems. Today when I booted it up I get this message "the disk inserted is not readable by this computer". It shows up in disk utility but the repair disk option is grayed out. Anybody else experienced this before? What do I do!!!??? And yes I've tried different cables and ports. HELP!
Old 15th December 2010
Lives for gear

I feel your pain. This has happened to me twice.

im no expert but here's a few things to try.

try taking it out of the case and putting it in your desktop.

next i would try burning a copy of Knoppix to CD and changing your computer to boot from CD drive first...or use linnux, to see if that allows you to access it.

you can try some disc recovery software as well.

last option is to send it to a pro who really knows what they are doing, but, that can cost thousands and provides no guarantees.

i was unable to save mine and haven't broken down and sent them away yet.

also every attempt at saving it and spinnnig it up, apparently damages data, so option one might be to send it to a pro.

i now have 3 harddrives, my bro has 3, and i also burn pretty much everything to DVD...
Old 15th December 2010
Lives for gear

All I can is, always have a backup and then a backup of the backup. Just last week I was restoring a drive image and for the first time ever one of drive image backups would not restore. I tried a few times with the same image without success. I finally got out my other backup and restored from that one successfully. So again, backup, and then backup again from now on. Hopefully there's a way for you to fix this, but it's not always likely. You could try http://www.alsoft.com/diskwarrior/