The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Noob Computer question, probably been answered on this forum 100+ times-
Old 19th January 2010
Here for the gear

Noob Computer question, probably been answered on this forum 100+ times-

Did some searches but everyone has a slightly different question.
Also I am not tech savvy at all, and I cannot even understand some of the threads.

To my question-

I am currently making music on a Dell Inspiron 1420 laptop.
As I am starting to get more serious on the production side, obviously that kind of computer is not going to cut it.

I Plan on getting a mac to run logic with, and will soon have the money for it.
Now my question is, do I really need a Mac Pro for what I am trying to do?

I am just a simple bedroom/basement producer with really no ambition to get into the music industry.
All I want to do is be able produce music that my friends make and create music myself, and get it out to people in my city. Play at some house partys and local bars and whatnot.
What I am looking for in a mac is just for everything in the computer, specifically logic, to run smoothly.

I was planning on purchasing the Mac mini with a few add-ons, is this all i need to run Logic smoothly?

'Stats' for Mac mini:
2.66 GHz Intel core 2 Duo
500 GB serial ATA drive
4 GB memory
Price: $1,167.00

(I am aware that I would have to purchase Logic and a monitor on top of this)

If anyone could help me out or point me in the right direction that would be greatly appreciated.

Once again, thanks to ayone who can help me out.
Old 19th January 2010
The mini should be fine... but if you can spring for the Imac, I'd recommend doing so as you'll not only get better specs... you'll get a nice screen.
Old 19th January 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by highgravity View Post
'Stats' for Mac mini:
2.66 GHz Intel core 2 Duo
500 GB serial ATA drive
4 GB memory
Price: $1,167.00