The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
My custom built production desk with a sliding 88 key controller Other Controllers
Old 22nd September 2009
Lives for gear

My custom built production desk with a sliding 88 key controller

So, I just built this desk because nothing like it exists on the market.

I'm a producer, songwriter and composer, but also do a lot of mixing. I don't need my weighted 88 key controller keyboard in the way while I'm just mixing or editing, and I was tired of having to turn to a keyboard set 90° to the speakers. Yes, it's all about the 88 key weighted piano controller... In my case I've got the CME UF-80. I looked for a long time for an already-built solution to the problem, bet never found it. So, I just designed and built it.

Does something like this interest anyone? I've had a couple people tell me I should look into marketing the thing... I'm certainly not equipped to build them in bulk, but I might be interested in talking with some manufacturers about it. Obviously this is a pretty "cheap" version (I probably spent $140 including the drawer slides and rack rails), and I'd love to see it built "right", but I needed to see if it even works well. And there are a few things that I'd probably suggest for something mass marketed that I couldn't accomplish on my own.

Thoughts?

Last edited by Stick; 20th February 2012 at 07:20 PM.. Reason: fixed pic links
Old 22nd September 2009
Gear Maniac

That looks great! There must be a market for these but they are so hard to find. It took me AGES to source one and I ended up importing it from Germany. This is a Maxxstation from Music Store, pictured here with a 73 key M3, but it will take a full 88 note keyboard on the sliding shelf:-

Old 22nd September 2009
Gear Guru

Great job to both of you. Maybe someday I'll get off the folding plastic tables myself.
Old 22nd September 2009