The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
...does my new i7 920 DAW build look a-ok? Audio Interfaces
Old 29th August 2009
Gear Head

...does my new i7 920 DAW build look a-ok?

CPU: Intel Core i7 920
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4
PSU: Corsair 620HXEU
Memory: Crucial 6GB kit (2GBx3)
HDD: WD 1TB Green Power WD10EADS
Cooler: Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Case: Antec Solo
GPU: MSI 512MB 8400GS
DVD: LG GH22LS30RB

what do you think? i put a lot of thought into it before asking you guys, but i'm no expert so at this point any corrective advice will be greatly appreciated!

i'm mostly not 100% sure about the HDD, cooler and VGA... plus that Crucial memory was chosen due to my budget, but i've not read anywhere that it'd be a bad choice either... or would it?

thank you
Old 29th August 2009
Gear nut

how much did it all cost?...

show off
Old 29th August 2009
Gear Head

i haven't bought it yet, that's why i'm asking...
Old 29th August 2009
Lives for gear

the cooler is very good,
the ram .... i would go for corsair (normal 1333 or dominator 1600)
the hard disk ... don't go for "green" but go for 7200rpm hd
or even better go for 2 hd's (1 for OS, 1 for audio)
i would go for samsung F1 or seagate hd's
the antec solo is good but i would put in 2 nexus 120mm fans instead of the antec's (they are a bit noisy)
vga card is ok as long as it's fanless and has 2 dvi outputs
Old 29th August 2009
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by StudioTinPanAll View Post
the ram .... i would go for corsair (normal 1333 or dominator 1600)
hmm, Crucial's no good? i was actually told that Corsairs memory might require a bit too much voltage and blow my CPU? if that's not true, then i would be able to get either of these too though, (would they work with the rest of my system then?): Corsair XMS3 and Corsair Dominator

Quote: