The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Learning form your experiences. Starting Off.
Old 21st August 2005
Here for the gear

Question Learning form your experiences. Starting Off.

I need advice and hope you can help me.

Like others, I too am not sure how to proceed. I am a song writer and the most inputs I think I need are about 4 (xlrs for my line 6 flextone, xlrs for two mics) The two products I've seen that I am interested in are the Presonus FirePod (Cubase SE) and the Digidesign MBox with ProTools. I have never worked with either and the experience I have is limited using PGMusic.

I see the value of both systems. I recognize that I will need to upgrade (buy a new machine) my Pentium III as well.

So here are my questions and I really appreciate all of your feedback.

1. What computer is the quietest or what features should I look for (laptop or home pc?

2 Is it possible to translate Cubase into ProTools? (I have a friend who has a studio -- he unfortunately lives 8,000 miles away but uses Pro Tools).

3, What have been people's experience with using either system with a laptop?

4. Would I be better off buying a dedicated system like the Yamaha AW16 and then transfer tracts to my computer?

I am really interested in getting quiet as well as a cost-effective solution.

Thank you all for your time and comments. Stefan.
Old 21st August 2005
Lives for gear

heres my two cents....in answer to your points.
pt1...whichever is the quitest depends very much on manufacturer selection and components. desktops can be quite...but youll need to spend some money.
google has lots of info on components/sites re....a quite pc.