The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
What is the big deal about dongle hate?
Old 15th June 2009
What is the big deal about dongle hate?

I'm a bit confused about this. I've been using Cubase4 for two years on my main machine and a laptop. I find that having to use a dongle is no big deal. Yet, I've read people who hate dongles with so much venom that you'd swear that the only thing worse than a dongle is total nuclear warfare. 90% of the time I never even see it, as it is plugged into my machine. If I need a quick remote recording on my laptop all I have to do is pull the thing out of my main machine and make sure I don't lose it.

The only downside I see is if you lose it or somehow break it and can't get it replaced. What's the deal here? What am I missing?
Old 15th June 2009

It's the internet and people like to complain.
Old 15th June 2009
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyBelmont View Post
It's the internet and people like to complain.
LOL Tony.
Old 15th June 2009
ark
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpaw View Post
The only downside I see is if you lose it or somehow break it and can't get it replaced. What's the deal here? What am I missing?
If you don't think that's enough of a downside to avoid, I doubt I can convince you. Nevertheless, I will add that my laptop has three USB ports, and dongle manufacturers often design dongles so that they will refuse to work with a hub. If I have software from two vendors that use two different dongles, that leaves me a single USB port for everything else.

So as far as I'm concerned, the optimum number of dongles is zero. So far I have had no difficulty maintaining that state of affairs.
Old 15th June 2009
Lives for gear