The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
8 years PC use ... ZERO knowledge of Macs ... been given an eMac ... options??
Old 29th July 2005
Gear Maniac

8 years PC use ... ZERO knowledge of Macs ... been given an eMac ... options??

Pheeeew ... this is like sticking your head out of a car window in a narrow road surrounded by dense bush/trees, closing your eyes and hoping for the best, but here goes.

Aside from audio applications, I have been working with (hard and software) IBM computers for 8 years and believe it or not, where I live the Apple Mac is an unknown entity ... no support ... no shops etc.

I currently use Cubase SX3 running on a Pentium 4 2.4ghz with 1gb of DDR Ram and started out WAAAAY back in the days of a 386 running windows 3.1 and Cakewalk Version 3 .... so I completely understand (almost from a "technical" or should I say "technician's" point of view) what type of machine I could work on and what I could expect to get out of it.

Now ... a friend of mine here wants to literally GIVE me an eMac.

I have NO IDEA right now what speed processor it has and so on and I also have NO IDEA what to look for in Macs .... I know he bought it brand new around 2 years ago and has never used it (another friend of mine who bought one for his graphic design business around the same time seems to think that it probably has a 1ghz processor).

Even if I went and spent a week researching online, I would probably end up at the top end of the game with the latest info etc .... so that is why I am posting my question here.

Firstly ... I use an analogue console and outboard equipment, so my use of the software environment is PURELY for virtual tape machine and editing facilities.

I am not one of those 90 + track mix gluttons ... I seldom go above 24 for my music .... BUT ... I do find myself doing a few outside projects from time to time.