The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Liquid mix vs Powercore x8 vs Uad-1 DSP Audio Systems
Old 10th December 2008
Here for the gear
Liquid mix vs Powercore x8 vs Uad-1

Hi, so I've been reading the other posts but havent found a similar situation. So first off I would like to say hello since I'm new to gearslutz!

On to the subject. I'm currently working one expanding my small home studio a little bit to get a better sound of my mixes. I am thinking about getting a liquid mix 32 channels for my studio vs my currently waves plugins (eq/compressor).

My setup overall is:
PC running intel c2d 3ghz 1333mhz fsb, 2gb ddr3 pc12800 etc.
FL DAW
Krk rokit 5 x2 active monitors
m-audio audiophile usb interface
virus classic hw
m-audio axiom 67

I produce trance music and want to make my mixes cleaner and I'm therefor looking for good quality compressors / equalizers for a decent amount of creds. Was checking out the Powercore x8 and uad-1 but not sure if I'm going to invest into that or Liquid Mix.

Any suggestions?

regards,
jaroo
Old 10th December 2008
whats your budget?
Old 10th December 2008
Here for the gear
Hmm about 400-1600 euro. Alltho I have heard the TC powercore has alot of problems. The uad-2 is a bit too pricy as I am also planning on buying a virus TI and some other things in the near future. I have heard alot of good about liquid mix tho and that's why I just need a straight answer if it will do the job or not for a producer. Most likely the tracks will not get mastered by major label so I have to do the job myself.
Old 10th December 2008
Lives for gear

you're in a tough position alright

my opinion

you can get amazing plugins natively - especially EQ (sonnox, EMI) and compressors too (sonnox, sonalksis, waves, EMI)