The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Logic pro 8 vs Logic express 8 Recorders, Players & Tape Machines
Old 13th September 2007
Gear Addict

Logic Express 8

With Logic Studio 8 out and everybody on the edge of their seat trying to get their fix, I was wondering if any low enders were considering a ride on the short bus (express 8).

I think the one major thing it lacks for song writers mixing down would be all the Surround mixing plugs, but after that it seems pretty loaded.

I'm no software expert by any stretch or producer, so i was wondering if people out there think the short bus is a good value or a waste of money because of what it lacks?

If it does lack something important could someone explain its shortcoming?
Old 13th September 2007
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by chk027 View Post
With Logic Studio 8 out and everybody on the edge of their seat trying to get their fix, I was wondering if any low enders were considering a ride on the short bus (express 8).

I'm no software expert by any stretch or producer, so i was wondering if people out there think the short bus is a good value or a waste of money because of what it lacks?
I know a few people who use logic, and I want to get in on collaborating. The input limits seem to have been lifted, so a Mac Mini and Logic Express 8 will partner nicely with my Saffire Pro. With all the included effects it makes a superb quality entry level DAW in my opinion.
Old 13th September 2007
I think Express 8 will be good enought.

- no more limiting the hardware in / out
- no more lame 8 buss only
- no more lame 2 aux only
- only surround capabilities and some instruments and effects are missing AFAIK.

I'll probably go for LExpress 8 and If I finally get used to Logic, I'll make a jump to Pro, since it's not thaaat big jump anymore (moneywise)
Old 13th September 2007
Lives for gear