The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
i need help choosing a new pc Studio Headphones
Old 8th September 2007
Here for the gear

i need help choosing a new pc

im using PTle with the digi 002. ive been running it on a dell dimension4700 for 3 years.ive upgraded the ram to 2 gigs and added another drive (10k) that i record on.i also use the same pc for everything else(internet, media management, etc.). the right thing to do to get the most out of the system is to have it used exclusively with the application, right?so im thinking of getting a new pc(i dont want to lose all my plugins or have to worry about converting them). im thinking another dell, inspiron, 4 gigs of ram and transfer the 10k drive from the other pc.
what do you guys think? is there anything i am missing in this equation
thanks
Old 8th September 2007
Gear Maniac

Well Im sure your looming for a basic answer to your question but Im also sure you are going to get a bunch of replies of what you SHOULD do instead of what your kinda planning on now...

And Im going to start it lol

So it looks like building your own PC from scratch sounds out of the question and you kinda want to go with a dell...

If I were you this is what I would do. Keep in mind this may all sound crazy to you and maybe even everyone else, Im just trying to show what I would do if my only option were to buy a dell and didnt want to mess with reinstalling plugs and things on the new one....