The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
What type of computer should I buy? DAW Software
Old 7th September 2007
Gear Nut

What type of computer should I buy?

Hi. I'm relatively new to recording. My setup is as follows:

HP Laptop - ( AMD Turion, 787 Mhz, 1.00 GB of RAM, 80 GB Hard Drive)
E-MU 1616M audio system
Ableton Live 5.0
Reason 3.0

I personally have never used a Mac even though they're better, especially for music. So, I'm open to getting a Mac.

What kind of computer would you buy for under $2,000 and why? Thank you.

dp
Old 7th September 2007
Lives for gear

If I were you, I would get MacBook; get the best configuration (most memory and biggest hard drive) you can afford.

I've worked with computers for a long time, and in my opinion the apple products today stand head and shoulders above their competition for many applications; and in the case of music-making it isn't even a contest.

-synthoid
Old 7th September 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by synthoid View Post
If I were you, I would get MacBook; get the best configuration (most memory and biggest hard drive) you can afford.

I've worked with computers for a long time, and in my opinion the apple products today stand head and shoulders above their competition for many applications; and in the case of music-making it isn't even a contest.

-synthoid
really?
interesting....

considering a mac is now a PC how is that?
OSX is better than windows? pleease...

they are both tools and they both work you choose one over the other based on software

i suppose you would say the same about an iMac?

Scott
ADK
Old 7th September 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by putney41 View Post

E-MU 1616M audio system
Ableton Live 5.0
Reason 3.0

I personally have never used a Mac even though they're better, especially for music. So, I'm open to getting a Mac.

dp