The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
I guess the time has come...
Old 31st August 2007
Gear Maniac

I guess the time has come...

As I'm just getting into recording I've been enjoying the fact that I've so far been able to do that with my little laptop and not need a dedicated machine. However lately my little machine here is running out of gas so I see an upgrade in my future.

I kind of drool when I read some of the slick systems people have built and written about but I think on the "make vs. buy" part I have to go with "buy" just from a time standpoint.

Probably not mac for me, but maybe... I dunno. Looking for lots of power so I don't run into this problem again for a long time, and also want to be able to add lots of drives and ram.

As far as systems you can just buy off the shelf and be ready to rock and roll with quickly, are there any that are considered to be the best? Looks like the systems that are designed for gaming are pretty performance oriented - are those OK for audio?

I'm thinking desktop since I already have a laptop to use for everything else besides recording.

For you guys who really have put together kick ass systems... if you were to just buy a premade what would you get and why? Appreciate any help. Thanks.

Charlie
Old 31st August 2007
Lives for gear

I would build (or buy) a system arround a quadcore : Q6600 for PC or a quadcore Mac Pro. That should give you enough horsepower.

Watch out for game PC's, they're mostly based arround a very powerfull single processor because lots of game don't use multiple cores. Audio applications do benifit of multiple cores.

What's your budget ?

Peter.
Old 31st August 2007
Gear Maniac

Ya... "what's the budget" is always a central question and I forgot to post that.