The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
DSP cards, the liquid channel and pro tools le latency, what gives? Rackmount Synthesizers
Old 26th August 2007
Lives for gear

DSP cards, the liquid channel and pro tools le latency, what gives?

Please be gentle. I am fairly new to computer recording. I have more of a background in tape machines etc.

I own an 002R and several pieces of outboard gear. I would like to get into plug ins a little more. I have the standard digi factory plugs now. They seem ok. I want to explore higher end plugs but want to take it easy on the old cpu. Here is my question:

I am interested in either the liquid channel or the Universal Audio UAD-1e Express Pak (PCI Express DSP Card). Now I know the liquid chanel has latency issues with pro tools le. What about the DSP cards? What is your advice for plugs that will not tax my cpu? With some of the plugs that I use now that introduce latency, I just add the plug to all chanels and turn off the actual plug on channels I am not using it on. Will that trick work with the liquid channel and/or DSP cards?

Hey thanks in advance for the info.
Old 26th August 2007
Lives for gear

Protools LE does not have Plugin Delay Compensation, whereas, HD does. It's crazy and not right, but it is, what it is. Anything you use that has to leave the DAW and got out to either the PCI(e) buss or via FW will cause latency. There are workarounds and once you get used to it, it really is no big deal. You have compensated for the latency. I think a lot of people just avoid these plugs when using LE. It's up to you, but be prepared for some frustration until you get used to it. Do a search here and the DUC to get more info. Shelling out he dough for HD is not justifiable for just Delay Compensation, but it sure is a nice feature.

Good Luck
Old 26th August 2007
Lives for gear