The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
AD/DA Converter or soundcard
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Head

AD/DA Converter or soundcard

Hey Guys,

So i've been sticking with my Komplete 6 soundcard for a good 8 years now and its time for an upgrade. I'm kind of stuck on whether to upgrade my card or the converters.

I've got my sights on the UA 2192 for 2k. Since alot of my stuff is in the box but i also use some synths and outboard compressors/fx I think investing in some quality converters would make a good deal of difference as I'm often disappointed with the recorded audio vs what im hearing through my monitors.

I could pair it with a RME digiface and then just use the komplete 6 in/outs i've already got or just get the behringer ADA800.

I guess I dont really understand what order to upgrade stuff in and whether id be better of just getting a pricier soundcard that does everything.
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonbongjovi View Post
Hey Guys,

So i've been sticking with my Komplete 6 soundcard for a good 8 years now and its time for an upgrade. I'm kind of stuck on whether to upgrade my card or the converters.

I've got my sights on the UA 2192 for 2k. Since alot of my stuff is in the box but i also use some synths and outboard compressors/fx I think investing in some quality converters would make a good deal of difference as I'm often disappointed with the recorded audio vs what im hearing through my monitors.

I could pair it with a RME digiface and then just use the komplete 6 in/outs i've already got or just get the behringer ADA800.

I guess I dont really understand what order to upgrade stuff in and whether id be better of just getting a pricier soundcard that does everything.
a UA2192 is not a sound card.
Old 4 weeks ago
That’s a lot of money for an A/D to then settle for D/A several leagues below.

Why not figure out a total budget, then look for a piece that gives the best return on that?

$2k buys you a lot of interface.