The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Cool Edit Pro replacement?
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Addict

Question Cool Edit Pro replacement?

Edit: I installed CEP on my Windows 10 laptop and it works perfectly...

I've been chopping samples in cool edit pro for almost 20 years. I had to upgrade to Windows 10 & it's no longer compatible.

I can't believe there aren't any basic audio editors (i don't want to open up PT) that offer the same functionality.

I need "save selection as"
I need to preview audio files in the browser

I can't believe Audition still doesn't have these things while CEP had them twenty ****ing years ago. They're all essential to my workflow.

Any ex-CEP users out there know of any standalone software?

Last edited by Bondtana; 2 weeks ago at 01:05 PM..
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Maniac

wavosaur
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bondtana View Post
I've been chopping samples in cool edit pro for almost 20 years lol.

I had to upgrade to Windows 10 & it's no longer compatible.

You can't "save selection as" while audio is playing in Audition.

Audacity does't have "save selection as"

Both things are imperative to my workflow.

Lol, I'm still using it too after all these years, still works great and is one of the many reasons I stay with win7 pro. What about Adobe Audition which is Cool Edit pro new style?
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Addict

Audition doesn't let you "save selection as" while you're playing a waveform... And there's no file preview in the browser.

That's a deal breaker for me.

Last edited by Bondtana; 2 weeks ago at 04:30 AM..
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Head
How about Audacity?

That's what replaced CoolEdit for it
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

still have it runnig some old pc's... - i went with nuendo.
Old 2 weeks ago
Sound Forge Pro
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
I've been chopping samples in cool edit pro for almost 20 years. I had to upgrade to Windows 10 & it's no longer compatible.