The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
PreSonus Compatibility with Fedora 31 (Linux)
Old 28th April 2020
Here for the gear

PreSonus Compatibility with Fedora 31 (Linux)

I've played guitar casually for years, but recently got it in my head to learn more piano and set up a basic home studio. I've got my guitars, some dynamic mics, and my computer. I'm just picking up an audio interface to stitch it all together, and eventually a good keyboard / MIDI controller.

I'm all Linux all the time these days though, so I've been learning the ins and outs of Ardour. Before I drop a couple hundred bucks on the PreSonus Studio 68c, can a more experienced audio engineer tell from a mile away that I'm about to wind up in a lot of pain by choosing to stay with in Linux for this?

For context, I'm a computer scientist by day, so debugging things on Linux is my bread and butter, and I'm not frightened off by otherwise daunting Linux challenges. That said, music is a hobby, so I'd rather not sink all my free time into more debugging and frustration when I really want to be making music.

Specifics aside at first, does smart money say I could have a shot at plugging in this ostensibly class compliant interface and getting things to just work with minimal jiggling? Or would experience and conventional wisdom say to abandon this angle?

(A small caveat is that I have the guitars and mics to test the trs/xlr inputs and make sure they work off the bat. Still being in the market for a keyboard, I won't immediately know whether the MIDI ports are configured correctly. If the former works off the bat, should I get the latter for free?)

For context: running Ardour 5.12 on Fedora 31.
Old 28th April 2020
Lives for gear

Hi,