The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Audio interface that can do together: ASIO VST + Windows sound
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Audio interface that can do together: ASIO VST + Windows sound

Hi,

I am looking for an audio interface (USB or PCI express) that can do the following:
  • Support ASIO VST playback with low latency
  • Can mux in Windows sounds with ASIO VST playback (either with DAW such as Cakewalk by Bandlab, Reaper etc.)
  • Has solid ASIO drivers, which work well with multiple Windows sleep-resume cycle
  • Can output to both headphones and line out *simultaneously*

I am a pianist and primarily use my Windows 10 PC to play Piano VSTs. I also use [url]https://pianomarvel.com/url] every day to learn piano. PianoMarvel runs in a browser and sends sound via Windows sound. I need to be able to hear both Piano VST and the Windows sound at the same time. I use line out to line in of the digital piano - to hear both Piano VST and Windows sound with digital piano's speakers. Occasionally, I reduce piano speakers' volume to 0 and use headphones at night for silent practice.

My current solution is using Realtek HD onboard sound card (with ASIO4ALL driver) and VoiceMeeter (https://voicemeeter.en.softonic.com/). VoiceMeeter provides a virtual sound device to use for Windows sound. ASIO4ALL can then use that sound device as a sound input. I use that as a track in the DAW. I use DAW to insert VST as another track. DAW then combines both these tracks.

This works well - except that every 15-30 minutes the Windows sound starts crackling and I have to reset ASIO4ALL driver (or restart DAW software). This is annoying and I would like to fix this by buying a separate audio interface (PCI express or USB).

Budget is ~$1000 or so (though I can go higher if absolutely required).

Most audio interface specs do not make it clear to me if this usage will work or not. So, I would appreciate any input. Thanks!

Osho
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear
Hi and welcome here,