The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Using PC speakers as an additional reference – hooking them into an interface or PC s
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Using PC speakers as an additional reference – hooking them into an interface or PC s

I am in the process of buying studio monitors and an audio interface, but I want to use my PC speakers (Altec Lansing ATP3, 2.1 system) as an additional reference in mixing and to switch back and forth between them and the studio monitors while I am composing and mixing.

I want to be able to switch between those two because I know my PC speakers well and I know how things should sound on them (I have been mixing on them for a few years, and listening to them even longer), and so that will help me learn the new monitors better, and will also serve as a good secondary reference.

So, I would like to know what would be the best way to connect the monitors and the PC speakers at the same time. I see several options:

1) Connect them both to an audio interface -- monitors to balanced TRS outs, and PC speakers to unbalanced RCA outs by using a 3.5 mm to RCA adapter.
-I am guessing that this option would work, since it should be possible to connect consumer speakers to RCA outs – but I don’t know are RCA outs on audio interfaces different and do they use a different output level than consumer speakers.
-I am expecting that then I would be able inside a DAW session to activate and deactivate Outputs 1-2 and 3-4 in my DAW (Cubase) and in that way switch between the monitors and PC speakers. Would this work or do you need some kind of hardware monitor selector even if you have an interface with multiple outputs?

2) Connect the PC speakers to the headphone output of the interface.