The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Conversion question
Old 2nd August 2019
Here for the gear

Conversion question

Hi guys. I am new to gearslutz. First thread here. Haha
Anyway i am currently running a home studio and i have a saffire 58 as my audio interface. The conversion is Ok on it, but thinking about adding extra channels to via adat with like say a lynx aurora.
Is there a way so that the audio conversion is done by the lynx and not the Saffire? Again i am very new to these kinds of things so go easy on me. Haha.
Thanks!
Old 3rd August 2019
Gear Maniac

If you want to pass analog audio through your interface into the adat think your out of luck.

But if you plug into the adat it converts there to digital.

Like behringer ada for instance. Plug a mic into it. It converts then it can travel through digital optical cable to the interface.

Just look at the cable you are outputing on.

If its digital and the source is analog , then you know.
Old 3rd August 2019
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amsoily View Post
If you want to pass analog audio through your interface into the adat think your out of luck.

But if you plug into the adat it converts there to digital.

Like behringer ada for instance. Plug a mic into it. It converts then it can travel through digital optical cable to the interface.

Just look at the cable you are outputing on.

If its digital and the source is analog , then you know.
Hi thanks for the reply. I guess i wasnt clear. I think what i mean is if i connect a lynx aurora converter plugged into the saffire via adat, which of those two equipments is doing the conversion? Is it the saffire or the lynx and is there a setting to make it so that the lynx is doing the A to D conversion?

Thanks.
Old 3rd August 2019
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josmusiclab View Post