The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Any of you running a Linux studio? DAW Software
Old 14th November 2018
Lives for gear
Any of you running a Linux studio?

I want to ween myself away from Mac because of the ridiculous pricing and decreasing user serviceability.

I hate Windows with a passion since I am constantly fixing my parent's Windows computer and find them unintuitive and terrible in terms of privacy.

I have no problems with macOS. It's great. It's just the hardware side that troubles me in the longterm.
Old 15th November 2018
Gear Head

I love Unix in general, I studied computer science on it, and I like Linux very much. That being said, I wouldn’t run a Linux studio, ever.

And you are right, Apple has become greedier than ever and even on the so called high-end machine the hardware is way outdated for the money. Not to mention the close to zero serviceability.

You might want to look at other alternatives to running MacOS other than on Apple hardware. I know I did and never regretted it.

Hope this helps
Old 15th November 2018
Lives for gear
Probably better to post this in the Music & Computers forum, but if it's just you, as a hobby, I say giver. If you're doing this commercially, having an industry standard DAW platform is the cost of doing business.
Old 15th November 2018
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neve View Post
I love Unix in general, I studied computer science on it, and I like Linux very much. That being said, I wouldn’t run a Linux studio, ever.

And you are right, Apple has become greedier than ever and even on the so called high-end machine the hardware is way outdated for the money. Not to mention the close to zero serviceability.

You might want to look at other alternatives to running MacOS other than on Apple hardware. I know I did and never regretted it.

Hope this helps