The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Opinions on this Laptop? (new Asus Zenbook)
Old 5th March 2018
Here for the gear
Opinions on this Laptop? (new Asus Zenbook)

Dear community,
My Asus Notebook which I've been using for about 9 years (!) is supposed to be substituted by a new one.

Currently I've found this particular one and need your opinions:
Asus Zenbook UX3430UA
  • 14" Full-HD
  • Intel Core i7-8550U / 4x 1.80 GHz / Kaby Lake R / 8mb cache
  • 16 GB RAM / LPDDR3 /PC3L-14900S (1866MHz)
  • 512 GB SSD M.2
  • Intel UHD Graphics 620
  • Windows 10

Price 1300€ / about 1600 $

direct link to a german online shop

I'm planning to use it with Samplitude Pro X3 Suite + Tascam US2000 (i.e. multitracking with 12 mics at once for drums)
  1. Do you think any of the specs could be an issue in terms of latency/anything else?
  2. Or is any of these specs a plain overkill?

Thank you very much in advance,
Roman

Last edited by romanxtk; 5th March 2018 at 11:31 PM.. Reason: added my interface
Old 5th March 2018
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by romanxtk View Post
Dear community,
My Asus Notebook which I've been using for about 9 years (!) is supposed to be substituted by a new one.

Currently I've found this particular one and need your opinions:
Asus Zenbook UX3430UA
  • 14" Full-HD
  • Intel Core i7-8550U / 4x 1.80 GHz / Kaby Lake R / 8mb cache
  • 16 GB RAM / LPDDR3 /PC3L-14900S (1866MHz)
  • 512 GB SSD M.2
  • Intel UHD Graphics 620
  • Windows 10

Price 1300€ / about 1600 $

direct link to a german online shop

I'm planning to use it with Samplitude Pro X3 Suite.
  1. Do you think any of the specs could be an issue in terms of latency/anything else?
  2. Or is any of these specs a plain overkill?

Thank you very much in advance,
Roman
What's the makeup of an average project, for you?
Old 5th March 2018
Here for the gear