The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Buzzing only on my desktop. Microphone Accessories
Old 25th July 2017
Here for the gear

Buzzing only on my desktop.

So I have been a laptop producer for a long time and have rarely had any issues. Recently however, I would like to start producing on the desktop that I built for gaming about a year ago. When I plug my Audio Interface into my desktop however, I notice a lot of buzzing and humming through my studio monitors, and even more noise when I move the mouse or scroll through a webpage. I am using a PreSonus AudioBox with a pair of Mackie MR8 mk2s. I am having a very hard time locating the source of the noise. I don't have any noise at all when using my Laptop, and when plugged into my desktop the noise only comes through my monitors, and not the headphones that are also plugged into the AudioBox. I read in a forum of someone having a slightly similar issue and fixing it with a hum destroyer between their interface and monitors. Do you think that would do the trick? It has more noise than just a hum like a ground loop would. Any advice would be much appreciated!
Old 26th July 2017
Lives for gear