The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How Come there are 5 VST folders?
Old 3rd April 2017
How Come there are 5 VST folders?

Hey Gang!

I'm new to Windows (Windows 10 pro 64bit) and I started installing plugins and realized they are being installed in different locations. Studio One doesn't recognize where some of them are because the default location is set to- drive C/program/VST. I know I can add locations to the directory in S1 but I would like to reinstall everything from scratch. Which VST folder would you install all the plugins to? I want them all to be in one VST folder.

There is a VST folder in the C drive
VST folder in the program folder
Vst folder in the Program x86 folder
a Steinberg VST folder as well.

LOL!

Talk about freedom of choice. On a mac they all go to the same vst folder.

Thanks!
Old 3rd April 2017
Gear Addict

There's a registry setting for VST plugins in Windows and you generally want to set it before you start installing plugs. Also good to make your own folders for them. I just make folders on the C drive like this

C:\VST\
C:\VST64\

32 bit plugs go in the VST folder and 64 bit go into VST64 and then obviously a sub folder for each company like for example C:\VST\Waves, C:\VST\Fabfilter.. etc

Open regedit

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>Software - Highlight the Software folder and right click New -> Key