The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Cubase tracks dropping sample rate Digital Converters
Old 22nd February 2017
Here for the gear

Cubase tracks dropping sample rate

Hi,

I am an amateur recording artist/mixer who has a pretty okay knowledge of cubase as I have been using it for 5 years. A problem has arose which has me thrown. I was wondering if there were any geniuses out there who could assist.

Basic info:
Running 2011 Imac
OS Version: 10.9.5
2.5Ghz Intel core I5 - 12GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Cubase 8
Saffire pro 40 + Octopre MKII

I recorded a track the other day at 48Khz as normal into my pro 40 with the MKII synced properly, everything sounded fine when monitoring and even when listening back. However, I close the project, open it up the next day and the vocal has this horrible digital 'distorted'/'grainy' sound, as if the sample rate is 28Khz instead of 48. (Link below)

I have removed all of my inserts, reset the outputs, restarted my Mac, tried to copy the tracks into another project but still the sound is there. I can go into the audio folder and find the individual wavs sound FINE playing through Itunes.
So I try to move the audio files to a different folder, open up the project and relocate them when prompted. However the same grainy/distorted problem happens.
So, I take an individual recording from the audio folder "Vocal main_16", import it into the same Cubase project, place it on the same track as the bad sounding takes and it sounds FINE. My attachments and the sound cloud link show the exact same take, the bad sounding one, and the same file re imported but sounding normal. The wave look slightly different also as a rather bad image shows. White = Bad sounding wave. Blue = Normal re import.

It is most definitely a problem with the audio recording. This has NEVER happened before and I have recorded since and I have NO PROBLEM.