The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Multi-track interface for drums Mixers (Digital)
Old 7th February 2017
Here for the gear

Multi-track interface for drums

I'm working on getting into collaborating with a couple friends from around the country and I need an interface.
I'm a drummer and want all mics on separate tracks.
Currently, I have 8 drum mics, but should be 10 or 11, hi-hat and 2 overheads.
I also need connectivity for some electronic drums or triggers. Either stereo and maybe midi might work. Right now, I use the stereo out of a Alesis DM5 module.
My budget is in the neighborhood of $500.

My first thought was to get the Tascam US-20x20, but there are not nearly enough inputs without getting a second one or another piece of equipment.

Aside from getting a full blown digital mixer, like the x32 which is way above budget, I've been looking at the Behringer X Air XR18. The main problem I see is that the sample rate is only 24bit /48khz. I'm very new to this, but most of the interfaces I've been looking at are 96khz or higher.
I don't know if this matters or not with drums.

I have a line on a used Yamaha 01v96 V2 mixer, but I was hoping to clear off my desk. I already have a Mackie cfx20 for analog mixing, but if the Yamaha is a better option, then that's the way I'll go.

I have a few options as far as computers. I'd like to go with either Win10 or even Linux. I'll configure this when I decide on the interface.

Not that it matters, but I also have a Behringer Xenyx 1222usb mixer. The problem with this is the digital interface is strictly 2 channel out.

Thanks in advance.
Old 8th February 2017
Here for the gear

I guess mt question is do you think there is a noticeable difference between 48khz and 96khz for drums?
Old 8th February 2017
Lives for gear

DIFF

Quote:
Originally Posted by JesterStrike View Post