The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Apogee Element 24 vs. UA Apollo Twin MkII Duo - Please Help!
Old 22nd January 2017
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
Apogee Element 24 vs. UA Apollo Twin MkII Duo - Please Help!

After exhaustive research, I’m between the and the new or UA Twin MkII Quad. I’m struggling to decide between these three and seek your guidance.

I am an alleged, emerging songwriter using Logic Pro X. I’m fairly new to recording in my sparse home studio. I record acoustic and electric guitar, bass and vocals- one source at a time. I play guitar and some bass. I just picked up a new bass and would like to use it direct through the new rig. BTW- Chris Squire used a pick. :-)

For what it’s worth, I’m a Mac tech using a 2012 QC i7-based MacBook Pro with 16GB RAM and 1TB SSD.

The Pros and Cons from my perspective... *UPDATED 1/25/17 and again on 2/7/17- I learned more; much of that attributed to the insight provided in this thread. The comparison is now between the Quad with the belief that the primary reason one would invest in UA is to use UAD higher demand sampled plugins. The Quad provides better ability to use those plugins.

UA Apollo Twin MkII Quad *Updated to Quad to get more of what you're buying UA Apollo for.
http://www.uaudio.com/audio-interfac...twin-mkii.html

Pros
• UAD’s vast, exclusive plugin library mainly consisting of sampled, high-end gear and also including high quality amp sims that cannot be implemented on other devices. There are several native plugins also under the UAD umbrella. From a quality standpoint, any also available native plugins function no better on Apollo hardware than on any other hardware.
• Plugins are included with the device purchase.
• Additional set of line outs to easily support PA speakers and/or a DI bass/guitar rig.
• Four DSP’s to run higher demand, sampled plug-ins at the device level. DSP's also provide the ability to run a guitar and/or bass DI rig without even running your DAW.