The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Worst CPU Hog Plug-ins? DAW Software
Old 30th December 2016
Here for the gear

Worst CPU Hog Plug-ins?

Dearest Slutz,

I'm a long-time Pro Tools-only addict (I use the term "addict" because I know that other DAWs might be better for my health, but can't seem to quit). Anyway, I have a long and storied history of fighting the CPU Hogs. I do all the smart things one should do to avoid them (I think); I run PT11 on a 32GB RAM Mac Pro, with a separate hard disc for my sessions, yadiyada... Sure, my system is more stable now than it has been at other times in the past, but the ever-present threat of the beach ball of death looms nonetheless.

3 related, but slightly different questions:

1. Which Plug-ins tend to be the worst (ie notorious CPU Hogs)? I tend to notice the CLA Signatures do a lot of damage. As does Sans Amp.

2. Is there a transparent way to accurately monitor the exact percentages that specific plug-ins are draining your CPU in a given session?
a. In Pro Tools?
b. In some other, more forward-thinking DAW that I should consider switching to?

note: I'm aware of Pro Tools' "System Usage" meter-window that tells you how much general CPU is being used in a given session. (Believe me, I have it open permanently). Useful to a point, but not really that helpful in terms of narrowing down which EXACT plugs might be most culpable for the latest crash.

It's like I'm constantly playing detective to figure it out. Seems like it would be easy for this to be visually presented. Perhaps there's a 3rd party program that does this? How could this not be a thing?

3.Last question is the most straight forward: Are there any general "best practices" that I simply don't know about in terms of optimizing one's computer to get the most out of a Native system's CPU?